Workshop on

Large-Scale Parallel Processing (LSPP)

Friday 27th May, 2016

Preliminary Schedule



Invited Keynote Presentation

9:00        The Transformation of Supercomputer Facilities
Michael Papka, ALCF Director and Deputy Associate Laboratory Director, Argonne National Laboratory

10:00      Coffee Break

Session 1: Making Efficient Use of Advanced Architectures

10:30      Evaluating the Performance Impact of Multiple Streams on MIC-based Heterogeneous Platforms, Zhaokui Li, Jianbin Fang, Tao Tang, Xuhao Chen, Cheng Chen, and Canqun Yang

11:00      Parallel Implementation Strategies for Hierarchical Non-Uniform Memory Access Systems by Example of the Scale-Invariant Feature Transform Algorithm, Max Plauth, Wieland Hagen, Frank Feinbube, Felix Eberhardt, Lena Feinbube, and Andreas Polze

11:30      Efficient Genetic Algorithm Encoding for Large-Scale Multi-Objective Resource Allocation, J.D. Leidel, Ryan Friese

12:00      Lunch Break

Session 2: Workflow Modeling and Optimization

1:30        Integrating Prediction, Provenance, and Optimization into High Energy Workflows, Darren J. Kerbyson, Mahantesh Halappanavar, Eric Stephan, Malachi Schram, Kevin J. Barker, Nathan R. Tallent, Ryan Friese, Jian Yin

2:00        X-Swap: Extreme-Scale Scientific Workflow Analysis and Prediction -- Lessons from the Trenches, John Wu

2:30        Performance Analysis of On-demand Light Source Applications, Ian Foster

3:00        Coffee Break

Session 3: Workflow Modeling and Optimization continued and Modeling at Scale

3:30        Toward and End-to-end Framework for Modeling, Monitoring, and Anomaly Detection for Scientific Workflows, Anir Mandal, Paul Ruth, Ilya Baldin, Dariusz Krol, Gideon Juve, Rajiv Mayani, Rafael Ferreira da Silva, Ewa Deelman, Jeremy Meredith, Jeffrey Vetter, Vickie Lynch, Ben Mayer, James Wynne III, Mark Blanco, Chris Carothers, Justin LaPre, Brian Tierney

4:00        Modeling the Performance and Energy Impact of Dynamic Power Steering, Kevin J. Barker and Darren J. Kerbyson

4:30     Closing Remarks

Workshop Chairs: Kevin J. Barker, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
      Christopher D. Carothers, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
      Eric van Hensbergen, ARM Research