Skip to Main Content U.S. Department of Energy
HIPS 2015

20th International Workshop on High-level Parallel Programming Models and Supportive Environments


Hyderabad International Convention Centre
Hyderabad, India

To be held in conjunction with 29th IEEE International Parallel & Distributed Processing Symposium.

Workshop agenda has been posted here, including information on the two keynote talks

The 20th HIPS workshop, to be held as a full-day meeting on 25 May, 2015 at the IPDPS 2015 conference in Hyderabad, focuses on high-level programming of multiprocessors, compute clusters, and massively parallel machines. Like previous workshops in the series, which was established in 1996, this event serves as a forum for research in the areas of parallel applications, language design, compilers, runtime systems, and programming tools. It provides a timely and lightweight forum for scientists and engineers to present the latest ideas and findings in these rapidly changing fields. In our call for papers, we especially encouraged innovative approaches in the areas of emerging programming models for large-scale parallel systems and many-core architectures.

Topics of interest to the HIPS workshop include but are not limited to:

  • New programming languages and constructs for exploiting parallelism and locality
  • Experience with and improvements for existing parallel languages and run-time environments such as MPI, OpenMP, Cilk, UPC, Co-array Fortran, OpenSHMEM, GASPI, X10, and Chapel
  • Parallel compilers, programming tools, and environments
  • (Scalable) tools for performance analysis, modeling, monitoring, and debugging
  • OS and architectural support for parallel programming and debugging
  • Software and system support for extreme scalability including fault tolerance
  • Programming environments for heterogeneous multicore systems and accelerators such as GPUs, FPGAs, Cells, and MICs


This year, the long-running HIPS and LSPP workshops will be jointly held as a full-day meeting on 25 May, 2015 at the IPDPS 2015 conference in Hyderabad. We have two exciting keynote talks. You can find the joint agenda here.


HIPS submissions should follow the IPDPS paper formatting guidelines. Submitted manuscripts may not exceed 10 single-spaced double-column pages using 10-point size font on 8.5x11 inch pages (IEEE conference style), including figures, tables, and references.

You can find more information on the IPDPS paper formatting guidelines under the "WHAT/WHERE TO SUBMIT" section here.

Submissions can be made online using this Easychair conference system link

Important Dates

  • Paper submission: 24 Jan 2015 (*EXTENDED*)
  • Notification of acceptance: 1 Feb 2015
  • Camera-ready papers: 21 Feb 2015
  • Workshop: 25 May 2015

Workshop Chairs

Steering Committee

  • Rudolf Eigenmann, Purdue University - West Lafayette, IN
  • Michael Gerndt, Technische Universitat - Munchen, Germany
  • Frank Mueller, North Carolina State University - Raleigh, NC
  • Craig Rasmussen, University of Oregon - Eugene, OR
  • Martin Schulz, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory - Livermore, CA

Program Committee

John Cavazos (University of Delaware, USA)
Brad Chamberlain (Cray, USA)
Albert Cohen (INRIA, France)
James Dinan (Intel, USA)
Franz Franchetti (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
Todd Gamblin (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA)
Judit Gimenez (Barcelona Supercomputing Centre, Spain)
David Grove (IBM, USA)
Georg Hager (Erlangen Regional Computing Center, Germany)
Khaled Hamidouche (Ohio State University, USA)
Paul Kelly (Imperial College London, UK)
Wenjing Ma (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
Stefano Markidis (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)
Naoya Maruyama (RIKEN AICS, Japan)
Kathryn Mohror (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA)
Matthias S. Mueller (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)
Stephen Olivier (Sandia National Lab, USA)
Mirko Rahn (Fraunhofer ITWM, Germany)
Bin Ren (Pacific Northwest National Lab, USA)
Christian Terboven (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)
Didem Unat (Koc Universitesi, Turkey)
Satish Vadiyar (IISc, India)