Seventh International Workshop on
Domain-Specific Languages and High-Level Frameworks for High Performance Computing

November 17, 2017

Half-day workshop in conjunction with

SC17: The International Conference for High Performance Computing, Networking, Storage, and Analysis

Denver, CO, USA

| Home | Advance Program |

Advance program and keynote talk have been posted

Please provide workshop feedback here

Workshop Description

Multi-level heterogeneous parallelism and deep memory hierarchies in current and emerging computer systems make their programming for high-performance applications very difficult. The task is made more challenging by the changing landscape of system architecture mandated by power and micro-architecture considerations. Domain-specific languages (DSLs) and high-level frameworks (HLFs) provide convenient abstractions, shielding application developers from much of the complexity and variability of explicitly programming in standard programming languages like C/C++/Fortran. Effective design of such abstractions for the high-performance computing context requires close interaction between researchers developing such languages and frameworks and domain experts with a deep understanding of the problem to be solved.

While a number of other venues exist that address domain-specific languages and high-level programming abstractions, none of them focus on the challenges to performance optimization and implementation on parallel systems. This workshop seeks to bring together developers and users of DSLs and HLFs to identify challenges and discuss solution approaches for their effective implementation and use on a variety of platforms, including massively parallel systems.

We solicit submissions on all aspects relating to domain-specific languages and high-level frameworks for the HPC context, including, but not limited to, the design, implementation, evaluation, or use of:

Submission Guidelines

While previous WOLFHPC workshops have only called for submission of unpublished work, this year's workshop seeks a broader participation by soliciting both unpublished as well as previously published work. This is to encourage members of the community to come together and discuss current challenges and opportunities to make an impact on significant HPC applications through advances in domain-specific languages and frameworks. We solicit submissions on early, unpublished, or already-published research ideas relating to experience stories, challenges faced, and overview of prior work. This edition of the workshop will not have a formal published proceedings, and all materials will only be archived on the conference web page.

Submissions should be two or more pages in pdf format but less than 10 pages (all inclusive) and follow ACM conference formatting guidelines. In addition to new ideas, experience stories, challenges faced, and overview of prior work are encouraged.

At least one of the authors of each accepted submission is expected to attend and present at the workshop.

Submissions can be made online at easychair.

Important Dates (tentative)

Submission deadline : 30 Aug 2017 15 Sep 2017
Author notification : 15 Sep 2017 7 Oct 2017
Final papers due : 20 Oct 2017
WOLFHPC workshop : 17 Nov 2017

Workshop Organization

Organizing Committee

Sriram Krishnamoorthy, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
J. (Ram) Ramanujam, Louisiana State University
P. (Saday) Sadayappan, The Ohio State University

Program Committee

Gagan Agrawal, The Ohio State University
Anthony Danalis, University of Tennessee Knoxville
James Dinan, Intel
Anshu Dubey, Argonne National Lab
John Feo, Pacific Northwest National Lab
Franz Franchetti, Carnegie Mellon University
David Ham, Imperial College London
Rishi Khan, Extreme Scale Solutions
Christian Lengauer, University of Passau
Fabio Luporini, Imperial College London
Wenjing Ma, Institute of Software, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Kamesh Madduri, Penn State University
Pat McCormick, Los Alamos National Lab
Antoniu Pop, University of Manchester
Istvan Reguly, Oxford e-Research Centre
Bin Ren, College of William and Mary
Manu Shantharam, SDSC
Xipeng Shen, NC State
Michelle Strout, University of Arizona
Omer Subasi, Pacific Northwest National Lab
Kenjiro Taura, University of Tokyo
Yonghong Yan, Oakland University